Copyright and Creative Commons – Reflection

To be honest, I had only a bare bones beginning knowledge of copyright and public domain and I had no idea about fair use and Creative Commons. I had an idea that there was an exception for education but no details. The class I started in Spring of 2012 had a link to Brad Templeton’s 10 Myth paper. It was written in a simple and clear way and I would return to that document and some of the other links that you provided for specific information/situations. Rich Stim’s page was clear and useful as well. I found the 4 factors for Fair Use to be helpful in my understanding.

Some of the things I learned: Copyright lasts a lifetime plus 70 years; It is better to always ask permission; Creative Commons images at the bottom of a work give you information about acceptable use and sharing; Fair Use almost always only allows for a portion of the work to be used; Copyright gives the creator the right to control who can make copies and who can make works derived from their creative work.

I got 17 of 20 on the quiz. (My previous results. I couldn’t get the quiz to work properly this time.)  I don’t think my first graders would do well on this quiz. It is not really 6 year old appropriate material. I do usually have a discussion with them about copying others’ work versus producing their own. I don’t think I would go much further than that although I think my understanding of fair use/copyright might help me to be more clear in what I communicate.

2 thoughts on “Copyright and Creative Commons – Reflection

  1. We will have to check the quiz out and see what is up with it. Thanks for letting us know. There is a simple lesson that another teacher told me about years ago that she created to use with her first graders. She had them each write or draw something on a piece of paper. She then explained that it was their work and only their work. She then had them then exchange the papers and they were instructed to add to the picture or change it. She then explained what they did was wrong because they changed the work of another person. It made sense to the kids to realize that they could not use or change someone else’s work.

Leave a Reply

