Web Tools to Improve Performance

GOOGLE CALENDAR

google calendar for Room 23

I made a Google calendar for Room 23 with the idea that I would share it with parents/caregivers. At this point I have mainly put specials on the calendar. I can see adding special projects, due dates, field trips, assemblies and many other things relevant to parents. I think this would be a great tool to use along with my weekly newsletter to keep parents informed. It is also an easy way for them to check information online rather than calling the school or sending me a note.

URL Conversion Tool

I used Google url shortener to shorten this URL:

https://docs.google.com/a/pps.k12.mi.us/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AuP8_NY5vcZWdGhRWjFzUVpZSjlZOFc0U1BZeVcwVmc&usp=drive_web#gid=0

to:  http://goo.gl/bhkPFb

Zamzar Document Conversion

Zamzar conversion (2)

The top part shows my response from Zamzar and the bottom shows the document that I converted to a pdf.

I think that this is much more valuable than I realize! I rarely have converted documents and maybe that is because I have not had the means to do so. It seems that this worked well, converts many types of documents and is free. I am imagining that I will find more and more times that this will come in handy.

EVERNOTE

I sent a note by e-mail to both Melissa and Carolyn. I added a photo and text.

I have to admit that I had a hard time figuring out how to add the image. I ended up e-mailing it to the Evernote e-mail address and using it from there. I found an article and clipped that but it didn’t show up in the test e-mail that I sent myself. I read through and listened to some of the tutorials they offer but did not find them as clear as I’d like. I would love to work on this more with someone at my elbow! I think I could get the idea fairly quickly. I spent a lot of time on it but it just didn’t click. I think Evernote has lots of possiblities for me. I plan to come back to it.

Leave a Reply

